Chaudhary Charan Singh Commemorative Stamp

11 Jun 2021  Fri

Chaudhary Charan Singh was the 5th Prime Minister of India; he served India as a Prime Minister between 28th July 1979 and 14 January 1980. He was the only prime minister of India who did not face Parliament.

Chaudhary Charan Singh was elected as a U.P. Legislative Assembly in 1937 from Chhaprauli and represented the constituency in 1946, 1952, 1962, and 1967. In 1946, he has elected as a Parliamentary Secretary in Pandit Govind Ballah Pant’s government and started working in various departments such as Revenue, Medical and Public Health, Justice, Information, etc. He was appointed as a Cabinet Minister in the state and was given a charge of the Department of Justice and Information in June 1951. In 1952, he took over Dr. Sampurnanand, Minister of Revenue and Agriculture in Cabinet. When he resigned in April 1959, he was holding charge of the Department of Revenue and Transport.

Visit philamart to view and purchase variety of stamps from all over the world.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base