Malta 1 Lira banknote of 1979

20 Sep 2019  Fri

Malta is an archipelago in the central Mediterranean between Sicily and the North African coast. It's a nation known for historic sites related to a succession of rulers including the Romans, Moors, Knights of Saint John, French and British. It has numerous fortresses, megalithic temples and the Hal Saflieni Hypogeum, a subterranean complex of halls and burial chambers dating to circa 4000 B.C.

The lira was the currency of Malta from 1972 until 31 December 2007. The euro replaced the Maltese lira as the official currency of Malta on 1 January 2008. Today we are looking at a 1 Lira banknote issued in 1979. The note specifications are as follows:

The obverse has the outline map of Malta; Gardjola Watch Tower at Senglea; Malta Coat of Arms (1975-1988) depicting coastal scene, the rising sun, a traditional Maltese boat luzzu or kajjik, a shovel and a pitchfork, and an Opuntia, a paddle cactus.

The reverse has Cardoon or Wild Artichoke (Cynara cardunculus); Modern building; The Central Bank of Malta Logo.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm