Awadh and Mughal Empire

21 Aug 2019  Wed

The state of Awadh or Oudh originated from the ancient city of Ayodhya. This state is situated in Indian States of Uttar Pradesh, it is bounded by Ganges Doab to the southwest Rohilkhand to the northwest, Nepal to the north, and Purvanchal to the east.

Since from 1350 CE the state Awadh was ruled by the different dynasties like Delhi Sultanate, Sharqi Sultanate, Mughal Empire, Nawabs of Awadh, East India Company and the British Raj.

This state was the part of Muslim invaders during the 12th Century, later in the 16th Century, it became the part of Mughal Empire. Before the Mughal Empire, this state was captured by Sharqi Sultanate of Jaunpur; but in the year 1555, the Mughal Emperor Humayun made it the part of Mughal Empire.

This silver rupee was issued by Mughal Emperor Muhammad Shah during the 5th year of his reign in the Hijri Year 1135. The obverse of this coin is inscribed with the name and title of Muhammad Shah. The reverse of this coin is inscribed with the mint name.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm