Bolivia 100 Pesos Bolivianos banknote

09 Aug 2019  Fri

Bolivia is a landlocked country located in western-central South America with a varied terrain spanning Andes Mountains, the Atacama Desert and Amazon Basin rainforest. Bolivia is the 5th largest country in South America and the 27th largest in the world.

Before Spanish colonization, the Andean region of Bolivia was part of the Inca Empire, while the northern and eastern lowlands were inhabited by independent tribes. The Spanish conquest of the Inca Empire began in 1524, and was mostly completed by 1533. The struggle for independence started in the city of Sucre on 25 May 1809 and after a long period of struggle it signed a peace treaty in 1842, putting a final end to the war.

Before the boliviano became the currency of Bolivia, Peso Boliviano, divided into 100 centavos, was the currency of Bolivia from January 1, 1963 until December 31, 1986. It was replaced by the boliviano at 1,000,000 pesos bolivianos = 1 boliviano.

Today we are looking at a 100 Pesos Bolivianos banknote. The obverse depicts the official Coat of Arms to left; and the portrait of Simon Bolivar to right. The reverse depicts the scene of the Declaration of the Bolivian Independence on 10th of July 1825.

Image Courtesy: PicClick

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm