Royal Mint Coin from Tower of London Collection Honours Ceremony of the Keys

08 Aug 2019  Thu

The Royal Mint released the fourth and final coin from its Tower of London Collection on 6th August. The fourth one is dedicated to the historic Ceremony of the Keys. The reverse side depicts the keys and lamp to represent important elements of the ceremony. A part of the ancient walls along with a unique Tower mint mark showing the White Tower is also shown as the Royal Mint was located within the premises of Tower of London for hundreds of years. No other coin in the UK features a special mint mark. The earlier releases from the collection highlighted Legend of the Ravens, Crown Jewels and Yeoman Warders. They are available in various versions and finishes for collectors.

The Ceremony of the Keys was introduced during the reign of Edward III in 1340. At 9.53 pm every day, the Chief Yeoman Warder, wearing his red Watch Coat and Tudor Bonnet, comes out of the Byward Tower, holding the Queen’s Keys and a lantern. He walks towards the archway of the Bloody Tower and meets soldiers from the military garrison. The Chief and the Tower’s Watchman close the outer and inner gates. The Chief moves 2 steps ahead at 10 pm, raises his bonnet and says ‘God preserve Queen Elizabeth’, to which the guard replies, ‘Amen’. The soldier plays ‘The Last Post’ on a bugle. The Queen’s House takes ownership of the keys temporarily and the guard is asked to leave.

Image Courtesy: The Royal Mint

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm