Royal Mail Stamps Feature Forests of the United Kingdom

2019-08-06 Tue

The Royal Mail has released a set of six postage stamps depicting beautiful scenes from the forests of Wales, England, Northern Ireland and Scotland. This set was released to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Forestry Commission. The six forests depicted on the stamps include Sherwood, Coed y Brenin, Glenariff, Kielder, Glen Affric and Westonbirt forests. Sherwood is the home of the famous fictional character, Robin Hood while Westonbirt is considered as the National Arboretum.

Glen Affric Forest is located in northern Scotland, Coed y Brenin Forest is situated in Snowdonia, Kielder Forest is located in Northumberland, Glenariff Forest in Country Antrim, Northern Ireland, Sherwood Forest is in Nottinghamshire and Westonbirt is in Gloucestershire. All these forests are known for their rich flora and fauna, apart from their amazing landscapes, rivers, mountains and waterfalls.

Image Courtesy: The Royal Mail