White Mountain National Forest

26 Jul 2019  Fri

White Mountain National Forest is one of the National Forest of United States of America. It was established in the year 1918 CE as a result of the week Act of 1911 federal acquisition of land had already begun in 1914. The White Mountains are a mountain range which covers about the quarter portion of the state New Hemisphere and a small portion of western Maine in the United States. They are also the part of the northern Appalachian Mountains and the most rugged mountains in New England.

The White Mountain National Forest also includes Franconia Range, Sandwich Range, Carter-Moriah Range and Kinsman Range in New Hampshire, and the Mahoosuc Range straddling the border between it and Maine.

The United States of America had issued this commemorative quarter dollar with the theme of White Mountain National Forest in the year 2013. This quarter dollar is the first coin issued in the year 2013 and 16th coin issued in America the Beautiful Quarters Program. The reverse of this coin depicts Mt. Chocorua, the easternmost peak of the Sandwich Range, framed by birch trees. It is an iconic view of the White Mountain National Forest system lands.

Image Courtesy: usmint.gov

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm