Dominican Republic Inverted Center Stamp of 1902

2019-07-11 Thu

The Dominican Republic, occupying the eastern two-thirds of the island of Hispaniola, is the second largest Caribbean nation in both area and population after Cuba.

The island was discovered by Columbus on his first voyage, and the capital, Santo Domingo, is the oldest permanent European settlement in the Western Hemisphere. Gaining independence in 1821, it was subsequently conquered and ruled by Haiti and later Spain. Permanent independence from Spain was gained in 1865.

The stamps of the Dominican Republic have enjoyed sustained popularity. The Dominican Republic has been, and remains, one of the most popular Latin American countries with American collectors. The 1902 Inverted Center Stamp is a famous error stamp of the world of philately.

On Feb. 25, 1902, the Dominican Republic issued a set of six bi-color engraved stamps to commemorate the 400th anniversary of the founding of Santos Domingo by Bartholomew Columbus. All of the stamps from the set exist with the center inverted. The stamps come with the denomination of 12 centavos and depict the inverted centre.

These stamps are valued by “Scott Classic Specialized Catalog of Stamps and Covers” at $17.50 each or $105 for the set of six.

Image Courtesy: https://www.linns.com

Visit philamart to view and purchase variety of stamps from all over the world.