Independent Kingdom Rohilkhand

17 Jun 2019  Mon

Rohilkhand is the region of the north-western state of India. During the epic period of Mahabharata, this region was known as Madhyadesh. The name Rohilkhand is named after Rohilla Afghan tribes.

It is believed that the Rohillas has come from native hills of Shahdarah and had obtained a position of petty officer in the army of Mughal Empire. Later they also occupied the higher post in the army of Mughal Empire.

In the year 1737, Rohilkhand was known with the name of Kuttahir. During that time it as occupied by the Afghan tribe known as Rohillas. When Ahmed Shah Abdali invaded in the year 1748, Ali Muhammad Khan got the control of Kuttahir and changed its name to Rohilkhand.

This silver rupee was issued by the ruler of Rohilkhand from the mint Muradabad. It was issued in the name of Mughal Emperor Alamgir II. The obverse of this coin is inscribed with the name of and title of Alamgir II with the Hijri year 1171. The reverse of this coin is inscribed with the julus formula, mint name and regnal year 6.

Image Courtesy: Oswal Auction

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm