Burundi 10 Francs banknote of 1981-2007

07 Jun 2019  Fri

Burundi, officially the Republic of Burundi, is a landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of East Africa, bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. It is also considered part of Central Africa. Burundi's capital is Bujumbura. The Twa, Hutu and Tutsi peoples have lived in Burundi for at least 500 years. For more than 200 of those years, Burundi was an independent kingdom, until the beginning of the 20th century, when Germany colonised the region. However, after the First World War and Germany's defeat, it ceded the territory to Belgium.

Burundi is a landlocked, resource-poor country with an underdeveloped manufacturing sector. Besides agriculture, other industries include: assembly of imported components; public works construction; food processing and light consumer goods such as blankets, shoes and soap.

The franc became the currency of Burundi in 1916 when Belgium occupied the former German colony and replaced the German East African rupie with the Belgian Congo Franc. The franc is the currency of Burundi. It is nominally subdivided into 100 centimes.

The note depicted besides is a 10 francs banknote issued from 1981 to 2007. This green note has the map outline with official Coat of Arms of Burundi on obverse and the Bezier lines on reverse.

Image Courtesy: PicClick

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm