Papua New Guinea 2 Kina banknote of 2007

2019-05-22 Wed

Papua New Guinea, in the southwestern Pacific, encompasses the eastern half of New Guinea and its offshore islands. A country of immense cultural and biological diversity, it’s known for its beaches and coral reefs. Inland are active volcanoes, Granite Mt. Wilhelm, dense rainforest and hiking routes like the Kokoda Trail. There are also traditional tribal villages, many with their own languages.

Papua New Guinea is richly endowed with natural resources, including mineral and renewable resources, such as forests, marine, and in some parts agriculture. The kina is the official currency of Papua New Guinea and is divided into 100 Toea. The kina was introduced on 19 April 1975 and circulated along with the Australian dollar until 1 January 1976, when the dollar ceased to be legal tender.

On 19 April 1975, notes were introduced for 2, 5 and 10 kina that replaced the Australian dollar at par, so the colour scheme was the same. Today, we are looking at a 2 Kina banknote issued in the year 2007. The note specifications are as follows:

Obverse: Bird of Paradise - National Emblem symbolising National Unity to left; National Parliament Building to center; a melange of Tapa cloth from Central Province, a Mount Hagen axe, a Club from the Huon Gulf area, a clay pot from the Sepik, a shield from the Madang Area, a marriage bed from Manus Island, a shield from the Upper Sepik Region; A see-through bank logo.

Reverse: Mount Hagen axe, Kula arm band from the Milne Bay Province, engraved dog's teeth from the Bougainville area, clay pot from the Sepik Province. This vibrantly green note has the Bank logo - Bird of Paradise as its watermark.

Image Courtesy: Just World Banknotes