Bengal Sultan Ghiyath Al-Din Jalal Shah’s Silver Rupee

2019-04-20 Sat

Bengal Sultanate was an independent medieval Islamic Kingdom which was established on the coast of Bay of Bengal during the 14th century. It was the first independent unified Bengal Kingdom under Muslim rule. The sultanate was dominated by numerous dynasties of Turkic, Arab, and Persian, Bengali and Abyssinian origin.

Ghiyath Al-Din Jalal Shah was the ruler of Bengal Sultanate; he sat on the throne of Bengal Sultanate in the year 1560 CE and ruled it till 1563 CE. He was the brother and successor of Sultan Ghiyath Bahadur Shah II.

This silver rupee was issued by Ghiyath Al-Din Jalal Shah from the mint Satgaon. The obverse of this coin is inscribed as ‘ Sultan Jalal Al-Din Bin Muhammad Shah Ghazi Khallada Allah Mulkahu' in the center; Ghiyat Al-Dunya Wa'L Din Abu'L Muzaffar' in the margin. The reverse of this coin is inscribed with Shahada and names Four Caliphs in margins around.

Image Courtesy: Classical Numismatic Gallery