Estonia 1 Kroon banknote of 1992

2019-03-26 Tue

Estonia is a country in Northern Europe which shares its borders with the Baltic Sea and the Gulf of Finland. Including more than 1,500 islands, its diverse terrain spans rocky beaches, old-growth forest, and many lakes. Formerly part of the Soviet Union, it's dotted with castles, churches and hilltop fortresses. The capital, Tallinn, is known for its preserved Old Town, museums and the 314m-high Tallinn TV Tower, which has an observation deck.

As a member of the European Union, Estonia is considered a high-income economy by the World Bank. The Kroon was the official currency of Estonia for two periods in history: 1928–1940 and 1992–2011. The kroon was reintroduced as Estonia's currency on 20 June 1992, replacing the Soviet ruble at a rate of 1 kroon = 10 rubles. The kroon was divided into 100 cents before it got replaced with Euro.

The note depicted beside is 1 Kroon banknote from the second phase of Kroon issued in 1992. The obverse has the portrait of an Artist: Kristjan Raud; the reverse has the Toompea Castle in Tallinn - the seat of the Parliament of the Republic of Estonia - the Riigikogu. This brown coloured note has the Toompea Castle has its watermark.

Image Courtesy: eBay.com