Albania 5 Leke of 1976

20 Mar 2019  Wed

Albania, on South Eastern Europe’s Balkan Peninsula, is a small country with Adriatic and Ionian coastlines and has an interior crossed by the Albanian Alps. The country has many castles and archaeological sites. Capital Tirana centers on sprawling Skanderbeg Square, site of the National History Museum, with exhibits spanning antiquity to post-communism and frescoed Et’hem Bey Mosque.

The Lek is the official currency of Albania. It is subdivided into 100 qindarka, although the qindarka are no longer issued. The lek was introduced as the first Albanian currency in February 1926. In 1926, the National Bank of Albania (Banka Kombetare e Shqipnis) introduced notes in denominations of 1, 5, 20 and 100 Franka Ari. In 1939, notes were issued denominated as 5 and 20 franga. These were followed in 1944 with notes for 2, 5 and 10 lek and 100 franga.

The note depicted beside is a 5 Leke banknote of 1976. The obverse depicts truck; steam train; and viaduct. The reverse has Cargo ship in the sea.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm