Sesame Street, T Rex and Halloween on Stamps

20 Mar 2019  Wed

USPS is going to release three new sets comprising of 24 non-denominated forever stamps in total very soon. A set of 16 stamps will celebrate the 50th year of production of the famous children’s TV show, Sesame Street. Another set of four stamps will be dedicated to the dinosaur tyrannosaurus rex and a set of 4 stamps will depict scary Silhouettes of Halloween.

Sesame Street was first aired on 10th November 1969, after which has been broadcasted through National Educational Television network and PBS. The show makes use of live action, puppetry and animation to educate and entertain young children. The show's unique Muppet characters gained popularity over the years. Designed by USPS art director Derry Noyes, the latest stamps are going to feature characters like Big Bird, Ernie, Bert, Cookie Monster, Rosita, Count von Count, Oscar the Grouch etc.

A pane of 16 stamps will feature rex in four designs labeled “T.rex” on each stamp. Scientist Julius T. Csotonyi had created the original artwork which features a newly hatched T. rex in downy feathers looking at a flying insect, a young adult T. rex walking in the forest, fossil skeletons of that same young adult T. rex and a young triceratops, and a juvenile T. rex hunting a primitive mammal. The young adult T rex that's featured on two of the stamps was discovered in Montana and is considered as one of the most significant discoveries. These remains are soon going to be displayed at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of Natural History in Washington, D.C. The tamps were designed by USPS art director Greg Breeding.

The four Halloween stamps depict a cat and a raven, two ghosts, a spider and its web, and a night sky with bats and stars. Each silhouette has a different coloured background and it appears as if the elements are seen through a window. The artwork was created by Tyler Lang while the stamps were designed by Greg Breeding.

Image Courtesy: USPS

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm