Moscow Becomes the Capital of Russia

2019-03-12 Tue

On 12th march 1918, Moscow becomes the capital of Russia again after Saint Peters-burg held this status for 215 years.

Moscow is the capital and most populous city of Russia. Situated on the Moskva River in the Central Federal District of European Russia, the name of the city is thought to be derived from the name this River. The first known reference to Moscow dates from 1147. At the time it was a minor town on the western border.

Later, Moscow was ruled by Grand Duke Daniel until 1303 and established it as a prosperous city on the right bank of the Moskva River. In the 16th and 17th centuries Moscow witnessed the period of Tsar which lasted till the early 20th Century.

However, the capital city during all these years was at St. Peters-burg. Following the success of the Russian Revolution of 1917, Vladimir Lenin, fearing possible foreign invasion, moved the capital from Saint Petersburg back to Moscow on March 12, 1918.

The city of Moscow had been featured on various stamps of the country. The stamp shown above was issued in the year 1989 and depicts St. Basil's cathedral and Minin and Pozharsky statue at Moscow.

Image Courtesy: https://tetyana.kiev.ua

Visit philamart to view and purchase variety of stamps from all over the world.