Ecuador 5 Sucres banknote of 1983

2019-03-06 Wed

Ecuador is a country straddling the equator on South America’s west coast. Its diverse landscape encompasses the Amazon jungle, Andean highlands, and the wildlife-rich Galápagos Islands. In the Andean foothills at an elevation of 2,850m, Quito, the capital, is known for its largely intact Spanish colonial center, with decorated 16th- and 17th-century palaces and religious sites, like the ornate Compania de Jesus Church.

The Sucre was the currency of Ecuador between 1884 and 2000. It was subdivided into 10 Decimos or 100 Centavos. The sucre was named after Latin American political leader Antonio Jose de Sucre. The currency was replaced by the US dollar as a result of the 1998–99 financial crisis.

The note depicted beside is a 5 Sucres banknote of 1983. The obverse has the portrait of Antonio Jose de Sucre in centre flanked by the denominational value in ornamental windows. The reverse has the National Coat of Arms of Ecuador in the centre.

Image Courtesy: Babylon Banknotes