Coinage of Mir Mahbub Ali Khan

2019-03-06 Wed

The Hyderabad state was founded by Mir Qamar ud din Khan, the governor of Deccan under the Mughals from 1713 to 1721. He held the grand titles of Asaf Jah, Nizam ul Mulk and Nizam of Hyderabad.

Mir Mahbub Ali Khan ruled the state from 1869 to 1911 AD. He issued various coins in gold, silver, copper, bronze, and tin in rectangular and round space. These coins were issued in the name of Ashrafi, Rupee, Anna, Pai, and Paisa.

The above shown pattern copper rectangular Paisa was also issued in his reign. The obverse of a coin has Persian legend ‘Nizam-ul-Mulk Asaf Jah Bahadur Pau Anna Halee’. The reverse of a coin has legend ‘Zarb Farkhanda Bunyad Hyderabad Julus Mainamat Manus’.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery