South Carolina State Quarter Dollar

2019-02-25 Mon

South Carolina is a state situated in the south-eastern United States and in the Easternmost of the Deep South. It is a border to the north by North Carolina and in the southeast by the Atlantic Ocean and to the southwest by Georgia across the Savannah River.

On 23rd May; 1788 it became eight states to ratify United State Constitution. It was the first state to be the vote in the favour of secession of Union on 20th December 1860. It was readmitted into the United States on 25th June 1868; after American Civil War II.

The United States of America had issued this quarter dollar on May 22, 2000, with the theme of South Carolina. This quarter dollar is the third quarter dollar issued in the year 2000 and it is the eighth quarter dollar released in 50 States Quarter Dollar Program. The obverse of this coin is inscribed as depicts the portrait of George Washington. The reverse of this coin highlights outlines map of the state South Carolina with three symbols Palmetto tree, the Carolina Wren and Yellow Jessamine.

Image Courtesy: usmint.gov