Half-Dollar of Mount-Rushmore

2019-02-04 Mon

The United States of America had issued this Half-Dollar commemorative to Commemorate the 50th Anniversary of Mount Rushmore in the year 1991.

Mount Rushmore National Memorial features the 60 foot (18m) sculpture of the head of four American President. It is considered as a symbol of United States democracy. Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a place surrounded by the beauty of Black Hills of South Dakota; it tells us the story of the birth, growth, development, and preservation of this country. The name of these four Presidents is George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, and Theodore Roosevelt. The mountain itself was originally named after Charles E. Rushmore, a New York lawyer investigating mining claims in the Black Hills in 1885.

This half-dollar was issued by the United States of America in the year 1991. The obverse of this coin depicts Mount Rushmore and sunburst. The reverse of the coin depicts the classic design of the American Buffalo.

Image Courtesy: usmint.gov