Stamps Released to Celebrate Buddha Mahotsav

22 Feb 2016  Mon

India Post issued a set of 4 stamps in Jan 2002 to celebrate the Buddha Mahostav. The set features the four important Buddhist monuments in India: Gridhakut Hills Rajgir, Dhammeka Stupa Sarnath, Mahabodhi Vihar Bodhgaya, Mahaparinirvana Vihar, Kushinagar.

Began in the year 1998, Buddha Festival is celebrated annually on the Fool Moon day in Vaisakh month, at Sarnath Varanasi to celebrate the birthday of Lord Buddha.

On this occasion, India post issued a set of four stamps to commemorate the spirit of the Buddha Festival. The stamp depicts the most important Buddhist monuments at the places where the Festival is celebrated.

The Mahabodhi Vihar - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - is a Buddhist temple in Bodh Gaya, marking the location where the Buddha, is said to have attained enlightenment.

Dhammeka Stupa, Sarnath is where the lord Buddha gave his first sermon after he achieved the Buddha hood.

Also known as Vulture’s peak, Gridhakut Hills is one of the Sanghas where Buddha used to reside and also it is the place where, Devadatta made a failed attempt to kill the lord.

The Mahaparinirvana Vihar has the most beautiful image of Budha in n recumbent position (Mahaparinirvana Posture) carved out of Red Standstone.

The stamps come in different denominations of Rs.4, Rs8 and Rs.15.

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm