Native American $1 Coin on Three Sisters agriculture

27 Sep 2023  Wed

The Three Sisters are the three main crops of various Indigenous peoples of North America: squash, maize and beans.

Agriculture has always been an important subject for Native American culture. Agriculture provided them with a margin of Survival during their early days.

The Sister Agriculture corn, beans, and squash were domesticated in central Mexico and spread from the southwest through North America.

In 2009, the US Mint issued a coin under the Native American $1 Coin Program with the theme of agriculture. The obverse of this coin features “Sacagawea” carrying her infant son, Jean Baptiste. The reverse features a Native American woman planting seeds in a field of corn, beans, and squash.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm