India's New Rs. 20 Coin

18 Sep 2020  Fri

A new denomination coin of twenty rupees has been circulated. A 20-rupees coin included in the new series of coins unveiled by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi for the visually handicapped in March 2019 and has come into general circulation on 17th September 2020. Last year, Prime Minister Narendra Modi unveiled the coins made under the Visually Handicapped Disabled Friendship Series. These included Rs. 1, Rs. 2, Rs. 5, Rs. 10 and Rs. 20 coins. All the coins in this series are of the same design. The Rs. 2, Rs. 5 and Rs. 10 coins are already into circulation. Now a coin of twenty rupees is introduced as a definitive coin for the first time in the history of republic India. The 20 rupees coin comes in a 12 polygon with the composition of copper, zinc and nickel. On the reverse part of the coin is the design of the grains reflecting the agricultural predominance of the country and has written Twenty rupees in both Hindi and English languages. The obverse side of the coin, the Ashoka Pillar is depicted with Satyameva Jayate below. On the right side of the Ashoka Pillar is written 'Bharat' in Hindi and on the left side 'India' in English.

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm