Dara Shikoh was Killed by Aurangzeb

2019-08-30 Fri

Abul Muzaffar Muhi-ud-Din Muhammad Aurangzeb became the sixth Mughal Emperor of India on 31st July 1658. His reign lasted for almost half a century (from 1658 to 1707) and was marked by several conquests and the vast expansion of the Mughal Empire.

When Shah Jahan fell ill, a struggle for the throne started between his four sons - Dara Shikoh, Shah Shuja, Aurangzeb, and Murad Baksh. On 30th August 1659, Dara Shikoh (the eldest son and heir-apparent of the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan) was put to the death by his younger brother Aurangzeb.

After having gained the throne and becoming the Emperor, Aurangzeb issued various gold, silver, and copper coins. His coins used poetic verses to praise his rule on the obverse and the reverse had a formula that was copied by all succeeding Mughals including the regnal year of the emperor along with the mint place.

The above shown gold Mohur was issued under his reign from Alamgirpur mint. The obverse of the coin is inscribed with Persian legend ‘Sikka Zad Dar Jahan Chu Badr Munir Shah Aurangzeb Alamgir’. The reverse of the coin is read as ‘Zarb Alamgirpur Sanah12 Julus Mainamat Manus’. This coin is listed at the estimated price of INR 1,25,000 to 1,50,000 at Classical Numismatic Gallery. Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery