Hyderabad and Mughal Empire

2019-08-28 Wed

Hyderabad is the capital of Indian States of Telangana, it is the fourth-most populous city and sixth most populous urban agglomeration in India.

This city was established in the year 1591 by Muhammad Quli Qutb Shah and it was ruled by the dynasty of Qutb Shah for nearly a century. After Qutb Shah Dynasty the city came under the control of the Mughal Empire. In the year 1724, Mughal viceroy Asif Jah I declared his sovereignty and created his dynasty, known as the Nizams of Hyderabad. Asif Jah I was the Viceroy of Deccan appointed by Mughal Emperor Farrukhsiyar in the year 1714 CE.

This silver rupee was issued by Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb in the Hijri Year 1099 from the mint Dar al-Jihad Hyderabad. The obverse of this coin is inscribed with the name and title of the Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb. The reverse of this coin is inscribed with the mint name Hyderabad with epithet Dar-ul-Jihad.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction