Ecuador 20 Sucres banknote of 1988

26 Aug 2019  Mon

Ecuador is a country straddling the equator on South America’s west coast. Its diverse landscape encompasses the Amazon jungle, Andean highlands, and the wildlife-rich Galápagos Islands. In the Andean foothills at an elevation of 2,850m, Quito, the capital, is known for its largely intact Spanish colonial center, with decorated 16th- and 17th-century palaces and religious sites, like the ornate Compania de Jesus Church.

The Sucre was the currency of Ecuador between 1884 and 2000. It was subdivided into 10 Decimos or 100 Centavos. The sucre was named after Latin American political leader Antonio Jose de Sucre. The currency was replaced by the US dollar as a result of the 1998–99 financial crisis.

Today we are discussing a 20 Sucres banknote issued in 1988. The obverse depicts the facade of La Companía de Jesus church in Quito in centre with denominational values depicted in four corners and to both sides. The reverse has the official National Coat of Arms of Ecuador.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm