Lebanon 10000 Livres banknote of 2012

21 May 2019  Tue

Lebanon, officially known as the Lebanese Republic, is a country in Western Asia. It is bordered by Syria to the north and east and Israel to the south, while Cyprus is west across the Mediterranean Sea. Lebanon's economy follows a laissez-faire model.

The Lebanese pound (French: Livre Libanaise) the currency of Lebanon. It used to be divided into 100 Piastres (or Qirsh) but high inflation in the Lebanese Civil War has eliminated the subdivisions. Lebanon's first banknotes were issued by the Banque du Syrie et Grand-Liban (Bank of Syria and Greater Lebanon) in 1925. Denominations ran from 25 girsha through to 100 pounds. In 1939, the bank's name was changed to the Bank of Syria and Lebanon.

The note depicted besides is 10,000 Livres banknote of 2012. The obverse has the State Emblem of Lebanon - Cedar of Lebanon (Cedrus libani). The reverse has the State Emblem, Martyrs' Monument (by Italian sculptor Marino Mazzacurati) on Martyrs' Square in Beirut with foliage of Cedar of Lebanon in the background. This orange-green note has the Cedar of Lebanon as watermark and the Eastern Arabic "10,000" in electrotype.

Image Courtesy: PicClick

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm