Estonia 1 Krooni banknote of 1992

02 May 2019  Thu

Estonia is a country in Northern Europe which shares its borders with the Baltic Sea and the Gulf of Finland. Including more than 1,500 islands, its diverse terrain spans rocky beaches, old-growth forest, and many lakes. Formerly part of the Soviet Union, it's dotted with castles, churches and hilltop fortresses. The capital, Tallinn, is known for its preserved Old Town, museums and the 314m-high Tallinn TV Tower, which has an observation deck.

As a member of the European Union, Estonia is considered a high-income economy by the World Bank. The Kroon was the official currency of Estonia for two periods in history: 1928–1940 and 1992–2011. The kroon was reintroduced as Estonia's currency on 20 June 1992, replacing the Soviet ruble at a rate of 1 kroon = 10 rubles. The kroon was divided into 100 cents before it got replaced with Euro.

The note alongside is a 1 Krooni banknote of 1992. The obverse has the portrait of Artist Kristjan Raud; The back depicts the Toompea Castle in Tallinn - the seat of the Parliament of the Republic of Estonia - the Riigikogu. The note has the Toompea Castle as the watermark

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm