Puerto Rico Commemorative Coin

08 Jan 2019  Tue

Puerto Rico is a Caribbean Island and a self-governing commonwealth of the United States of America; it is an unincorporated territory of United States located in the Northern Caribbean Sea to the east of the Dominican Republic and the west of the US Virgin Islands. Puerto Rico lies on a key shipping lane to the Panama Canal, the Mona Passage.

This place was founded by Christopher Columbus; when he arrived at Puerto Rico in the year 1493; and soon this place became a Spanish colony and an important military outpost. Later, French, Dutch, and English had made numerous attempts to conquer this place but they did not succeed; it remained an overseas province of Spain until the Spanish-American War.

According to the Treaty of Paris which was signed on 1898, it was ceded to the United States, and the residence of Puerto Rico became the residence of United States in the year 1917. On July 3, 1950, Congress passed a law authorizing Puerto Rico to draft its own constitution, and it officially became a United States commonwealth on July 25, 1952.

The United States of America had issued a Quarter-Dollar commemorative coin on Puerto Rico.

Image Courtesy: usmint.gov

Knowledge Base