5 Rufiya Banknotes of Maldives

28 Nov 2018  Wed

The Maldives is a tropical nation in the Indian Ocean which is composed of 26 ring-shaped atolls, which are made up of more than 1,000 coral islands. It’s known for its beaches, blue lagoons and extensive reefs. The capital, Male, has a busy fish market, restaurants and shops on the main road, Majeedhee Magu, and 17th-century Hukuru Miskiy (also known as Friday Mosque) made of carved white coral.

In spite of being a relatively small country, the Maldives is a strong nation. The Maldives is a founding member of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC). It is also a member of the United Nations, the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, and the Non-Aligned Movement. The World Bank classifies the Maldives as having an upper middle-income economy.

The currency of the Maldives id Rufiya, derived from the Sanskrit “rupya” or the India currency “Rupee”. Notes for 1?2, 1, 2, 5 and 10 rufiyaa were printed and put into circulation on 5 September 1948. In 1951, 50 and 100 rufiyaa notes were introduced. The current series of banknotes was issued in 1983 in denominations of 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 rufiyaa. 500 rufiyaa notes were added in 1990, with the 2 rufiyaa replaced by a coin in 1995.

The obverse has Coconuts; "Dhivehi Odi" dhow, sailing boat built of coconut timber depicted, while the back features a fishing scene with sailboats in the ocean. This purple green note has Maldives Coat of Arms as Watermark.

Beautiful isn’t it?

Image Courtesy: nvmvs.com

Knowledge Base