Burundi 20 Francs banknote series of 1977-2007

20 Nov 2018  Tue

Burundi, officially the Republic of Burundi, is a landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of East Africa, bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. It is also considered part of Central Africa. Burundi's capital is Bujumbura. The Twa, Hutu and Tutsi peoples have lived in Burundi for at least 500 years. For more than 200 of those years, Burundi was an independent kingdom, until the beginning of the 20th century, when Germany colonised the region. However, after the First World War and Germany's defeat, it ceded the territory to Belgium.

Burundi is a landlocked, resource-poor country with an underdeveloped manufacturing sector. Besides agriculture, other industries include: assembly of imported components; public works construction; food processing and light consumer goods such as blankets, shoes and soap.

The franc became the currency of Burundi in 1916 when Belgium occupied the former German colony and replaced the German East African rupie with the Belgian Congo Franc. The franc is the currency of Burundi. It is nominally subdivided into 100 centimes.

The note depicted beside is a Burundi 20 Francs banknote of series 1977-2007. The front of the note shows an African dancer while the back depicts the official Coat of Arms.

Image Courtesy: Google Images

Knowledge Base