Bosnia and Herzegovania 10 Convertible Marks

29 Oct 2018  Mon

Bosnia and Herzegovina is a country on the Balkan Peninsula in south-eastern Europe. Its countryside is home to medieval villages, rivers and lakes, plus the craggy Dinaric Alps. The National capital of Sarajevo has a well preserved old quarter, Bascarsija, with landmarks like 16th-century Gazi Husrev-Bey Mosque. Ottoman-era Latin Bridge is the site of the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, which ignited World War I.

The country is one of the most frequently visited countries in the region. The Bosnia and Herzegovina convertible mark is the currency of Bosnia and Herzegovina. It is divided into 100 pfennigs or fenings.

The convertible mark was established by the 1995 Dayton Agreement. It replaced the Bosnia and Herzegovina dinar, Croatian Kuna and Republika Srpska dinar as the single currency of Bosnia and Herzegovina in 1998.

In 1998, notes were introduced in denominations of 50 fenings/pfennigs, 1 mark, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 marks with various additions over the year. The banknotes are issued by the Central Bank of Bosnia Herzegovina, with distinct designs for the entities of Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Republika Srpska.

Today we are seeing the 10 Convertible Marks banknote from 1998. The front has the Portrait of the Bosnian-Herzegovinan and Yugoslav poet Mehmedalija Mak Dizdar to right and the denominational value in number and words to centre-left. The back has a Fragment of a Radimlja Tombstone. This orange-brown note has the Watermark of a Repetitive "CBBH" in Latin and Cyrillic letters and the signature of Peter Nicholl (Governor).

Image Courtesy: Allnumis

Knowledge Base