Mount Rushmore National Memorial Commemorative Coin

17 Oct 2018  Wed

Mount Rushmore National Memorial features the 60 foot (18m) sculpture of the head of four American President. This place is surrounded by the beauty of the Black Hills of South Dakota; it tells us the story of the birth, growth, development, and preservation of this country. The name of these four Presidents is George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, and Theodore Roosevelt. The mountain itself was originally named after Charles E. Rushmore, a New York lawyer investigating mining claims in the Black Hills in 1885.

The United States of America had issued a Five Dollar commemorative coin with the theme of Mount Rushmore National Memorial. The obverse of this coin depicts an eagle with a fight over Mount Rushmore and six stars on the right edge. The reverse of the coin has an inscription ‘MOUNT RUSHMORE NATIONAL MEMORIAL’.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base