Samaon 2 Tala Banknote of 1990

28 Sep 2018  Fri

Samoa is a country comprising of the westernmost group of the Samoan Islands, in Polynesia. Many of its islands have reef-bordered beaches and rugged, rainforest interiors with gorges and waterfalls. The islands include Upolu, home to most of Samoa's population, and Savai'i, one of the largest islands in the South Pacific. Smaller islands may have small villages or be uninhabited, some with wildlife sanctuaries.

The Lapita people discovered and settled the Samoan Islands around 3,500 years ago. They developed a unique Samoan language and Samoan cultural identity. The United Nations has classified Samoa as an economically developing country since 2014.

The country's currency is the Samoan Tala, issued and regulated by the Central Bank of Samoa. It is divided into 100 sene. The Tala was introduced on 10 July 1967, following the country's political independence from New Zealand in 1962. The Samoan currency is issued and regulated by the Central Bank of Samoa.

Today we are discussing 2 Tala banknote issued in the year 1990. The note specifications area s follows:

The obverse depicts a portrait of HRH Malietoa Tanumafili II (also known as Susuga) to right with a background of a Beach Road in Samoan village Apia and Mulivai Immaculate Conception of Mary Roman Catholic Cathedral built in 1885; Traditionally built fales and Kava Bowl (in transparent window). The reverse has a Samoan family scene in Samoan Fale (house) along with the Coat of Arms. The note bears the signature of Tuilaepa Lupesoliai Sailele Malielegaoi, the Minister of Finance.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base