Malaysia 1972-1976 2nd Series 1 Ringgit Banknote

27 Sep 2018  Thu

Malaysia is a Southeast Asian country occupying parts of the Malay Peninsula and the island of Borneo. It's known for its beaches, rainforests and mix of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European cultural influences. The capital, Kuala Lumpur, is home to colonial buildings, busy shopping districts such as Bukit Bintang and skyscrapers such as the iconic, 451m-tall Petronas Twin Towers.

A member of the Commonwealth of Nations, Malaysia has had one of the best economic records in Asia since its independence from the United Kingdom. Malaysia is also classified as an emerging economy by the World Bank.

The Malaysian ringgit is the currency of Malaysia. It is divided into 100 sen (cents) and is issued by the Bank Negara Malaysia. The Malay names ringgit and sen were officially adopted as the sole official names in August 1975. Previously they had been known officially as dollars and cents in English and ringgit and sen in Malay.

Today we are looking at a 1972-1976 2nd Series 1 Ringgit Banknote. The note specifications are as follows:

The obverse portrays the Portrait of the first Colonel Seri Paduka, first Supreme Head of State (Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong) of the Federation of Malaya - Tuanku Abdul Rahman Ibni Al-Marhum Tuanku Muhammad (24 August 1895 – 1 April 1960). The reverse has the Logo of the Central Bank of Malaysia depicting a kijang emas (Malaysia Barking Deer - Muntiacus muntjak), which originates from Kelantan Kijang Gold Kupang coin. This prominently blue note has the Tiger's head as the Watermark and the Signature of Ismail Mohammed Ali (Governor – Gabenur).

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base