First Commemorative Stamps of Denmark

23 Jul 2018  Mon

The first Commemorative Danish stamps appeared in 1920. The stamps were issued to commemorate the return of Northern Schleswig to Denmark following World War I.

A set of five stamps were issued in 1920 and 1921 to celebrate the Return of Northern Schleswig to Denmark. The three common designs are as follows. The stamps feature the most beloved and famous monuments of the country.

Sonderborg Castle – A 14th Century castle in Sønderborg, Denmark! Since 1921, the castle has been a museum, featuring historical artefacts of the Duchy of Schleswig.

Roskilde Cathedral – A 12th Century cathedral in Roskilde, Denmark, which is famous for being the only Gothic cathedral, built entirely of brick. Roskilde has been the burial site for all the Danish monarchs, since the 15th Century.

Kronborg Castle – A 16th Century castle in Helsingor, Denmark! This is the castle that was immortalized as "Elsinore" in William Shakespeare's "Hamlet".

Northern Schleswig was part of the former Danish Duchy of Schleswig until it was annexed by the Prussian Empire in 1864. After the end of World War I, it officially became part of the Kingdom of Denmark on June 15, 1920.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base