Mizoram Accord was signed

30 Jun 2018  Sat

Mizoram is a state located in the Northeast part of India, with Aizwal as its capital city. The name Mizo is derived from the name of the native inhabitants, and Ram, which means land and thus Mizoram means “Land of Mizos”.

Mizoram is the southernmost landlocked state, sharing borders with three of the Seven Sisters States, namely Tripura, Assam, and Manipur. Like several other northeastern states of India, Mizoram was previously part of Assam until 1972, when it was carved out as a Union Territory. It became the 23rd state of India, a step above Union Territory, on 20 February 1987, with Fifty-Third Amendment of Indian Constitution, 1986.

The Mizoram Accord was signed between the Mizo National Front (MNF) and the Government of India on 30th June 1986. The MNF was a secessionist movement to protest against the negligence and indifference of the Government of India to the people of Mizoram at the time of a severe famine, mautam, during the late 1950s.

This historic accord served to strengthen the emotional integration of the people of the state with the nation as a whole. The official document entitled Mizoram Accord, 1986, Memorandum of Settlement was the landmark that restored peace and harmony in the state. The signatories were Laldenga, leader of the movement, R. D. Pradhan, Home Secretary, and Lalkhama, Chief Secretary.

To commemorate this historic event India post issued a 300 Paisa postage stamp on Anniversary of the Mizo Accord, 1986, Memorandum of settlement. The design of the stamp emphasizes the lasting peace brought on by the Accord with the two hands clasped in a firm handshake symbolizing the Accord. The lush green hills in the background represent the natural scenic beauty of the state.

Image Source: Mintage World

Knowledge Base