Silver Nazarana Rupee of Jaswant Singh

02 Jun 2018  Sat

Depicted here is silver Nazarana Rupee of Bharatpur issued in the reign of Jaswant Singh. This coin was struck in the name of Queen Victoria from Brijendrapur mint in 1858 AD. The obverse of the coin features a bust of the Queen wearing a coronet in the centre and Persian legend Malika Mu'azzamah Farman Rawaye Inglistan ("Mighty Queen Ruling over England"), date below.

The reverse of the coin bears the legend Sikka-i-Zul Iqtidar Angrezi Sarkar ("Coin of the upholder of the trust of the English Government") Zarb Brijendrapur followed by mint -marks of star and dagger and VS date.

This coin is one of the earliest issues in the name of Queen Victoria struck by a princely state. The date 1858AD is important here - it was the year in which the Great Indian Revolt saw its slow extinguishing and many princes came out in open support of the British government.

Bharatpur was one of the first to show these tendencies - it is likely that coins with the Queen's effigy were struck immediately after the 'Queen's Proclamation' issued on 1 November 1858 which effectively ended the rule of the East India Company and made the Queen the sovereign head of state of India. The curious title "upholder of the trust of English government" is suggestive of the role played by the Maharaja by siding with the British during the Revolt.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base