Copper Coins of Aurangzeb

15 May 2018  Tue

Aurangzeb was the third son of Emperor Shah Jahan. He sat on the Mughal throne in the year 1658 AD and ruled it until his death in 1707 AD. Aurangzeb ruled the Mughal Empire for almost half-century.

Aurangzeb was an orthodox Muslim and this can be clearly seen on his coins. When Aurangzeb came to the reign, he replaced the use of Kalima on the coin with couplets, as he did not want to defile the Kalima through its association with the monetary transactions of infidels.

Aurangzeb ruled for almost half-century, and in this long period of his reign, he issued the coins in all three metals: gold, silver, and copper. In copper, he issued denomination like 1/8 Paisa, 1/4 Paisa, 1/2 Paisa, Paisa, 1/2 Dam, and Dam. Copper coins issued by him have various legends like ‘Falus Badshah Alamgir’, ‘Falus Alamgiri’, Sikka Mubarak Julus’, etc.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base