“Rupiya” a brief history

11 May 2018  Fri

India’s financial evolution is just as interesting and intriguing as her glorious past. Starting from the ancient Punch Marked Coins to the current facade of the Lion capitals and a smiling Mahatma Gandhi, the Indian currency has undergone great changes which have uniquely defined it.

The terms “Rupiya” and “Paisa” were first introduced in the 16th century CE. The weight of one silver Rupiya was 178 grains (approx. 11.66 grams). The term “Rupiya” was introduced by Sher Shah Suri, its origin is connected to the Sanskrit word “rupya” meaning wrought silver or a silver coin. Both the terms, Rupiya and Paisa, have stuck through the ages leading to the modern Indian ‘Rupee’ and ‘Paise’.

Indian “Rupee” which survived the changing kings and their titles, adorned the Ashokan Lion Capital (India’s National Emblem) proudly since 1950. Anna Series became the first Republic India coin series with 16 Annas constituting to 1 Rupee. As the years passed, India went on to mint many series (1950-1954 Anna Series and Post 1954 Decimal Series), experimenting with different denominations and metals. Today one Rupee is made up of hundred Paise and the latest design of 2011 has the new rupee symbol with floral design on its reverse with the Ashokan Lion Capital on the obverse.

Isn’t it interesting to know our currency's history? Stay tuned for more of such interesting news on our portal. Happy Collecting Fellas!

Image Courtesy: Google Images

Knowledge Base