Coins of Sikandar Shah Suri

23 Mar 2018  Fri

Sikandar Shah Suri was the 6th ruler of Sur Dynasty. He sat on the throne after overthrowing Ibrahim Shah Suri. The real name of Sikandar Shah Suri was Ahmad Khan Suri, he took the name Sikandar Shah Suri after sitting on the throne.

Sikandar Shah Suri issued coins in silver, billon and copper. In silver he issued denominations like Rupee and in billon, he issued the denomination like Tanka. In Copper, he issued the denomination like Paisa, one-eighth Paisa, and one-tenth Paisa. Coins issued by Sikandar Shah Suri are rare. Most of the copper coins issued by him are mintless.

This rare mintless copper paisa, Fi-ahad type coin was issued by Sikandar Shah Suri. The obverse of this coin is inscribed as ‘Al Mutawakkil Al Allah Sikandar Shahi Sultan Shahi’. The reverse of the coin is inscribed as ‘Fi Ahd Amir Al Muminin Khallada Khilafatahu’.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction.

Click here to read more about similar coin on our website.

Knowledge Base