Gold Mohur of Awadh

23 Feb 2018  Fri

Awadh was a Princely State during the British rule in India. The history of Awadh can be traced back to the ancient kingdom of Kosala with Ayodhya as its capital. This region was ruled by different dynasties like Delhi Sultanate, Mughal Empire, East India Company and the British.

The Nawabs of this state traced their origin to ‘Muhammad Amin’, a Persian adventurer who served the Mughal Emperor, 'Muhammad Shah’. Muhammad Amin was appointed as the Subahdar of Awadh in 1720 AD. In the later period, Awadh declared its Independence towards the decline of the Mughal Empire.

This gold Ashrafi was issued by Wajid Ali Shah during the 2nd year of his reign. The obverse of the coin is inscribed as ‘Sikka Zad Bar Sim Zar Az Fazl tayeed Ilah Zile Haq Sultan Alam Wajid Ali Alam Badshah’ with Hijri Year 1264. The reverse of the coin is inscribed with the ‘Coat of Arms’ encircled by legend ‘Zarb Mulk Awadh Bait us-Sultanat Lakhnau’ with Regnal year 2.

Knowledge Base