Jodhpur Princely State

15 Jan 2018  Mon

Jodhpur was a Princely State under the British rule in India. It was the largest Princely State in the Rajputana Agency. The Maharajadhiraja (Great King of Kings) of Jodhpur, belonging to the Rathor Rajputs, who claimed their extremely ancient ancestry from Lord Ram, King of Ayodhya.

The city of Jodhpur was founded by Rao Jodha in 1459 CE, the first ruler of Rathore dynasty; hence the name and the city were named after him. Mughal emperor Aurangzeb had sacked the city in the year 1679 CE which stimulated Rajput royal house to come together in order to free themselves from Mughal Empire. In the year 1818 CE this city came under the British control. The merchants of Jodhpur are known as ‘Marwaris’, they occupied a dominant role in trade around India. After the independence in the year 1947, this state was merged into the newly formed state of Rajasthan on 13th March 1949 CE.

This gold mohur was issued by Jaswant Singh. The obverse of the coin is inscribed with the full name of Queen Victoria ‘Ba-Zaman-I-Mubarak Queen Victoria Malikah Muazzamah Inglistan-O-Hindustan’, with mark ‘Jhar’. The reverse of the coin is inscribed as ‘Shri Mataji’ written in Devanagari, Bahadur Shri Jaswant Singh' written in Persian with numerical 22.

Knowledge Base