Gold Ashrafi of Hyderabad

19 Dec 2017  Tue

Hyderabad was a Princely State located in the South-central region of India. It was ruled by Nizam of Hyderabad from 1724 till 1948. The region had also become the part of Mughal Empire in 1680.

Hyderabad was founded by Mir Qamar-ud-din Khan, a governor of Deccan under the Mughal Empire from 1713 till 1721. In the year 1724, he became free from Mughal and founded Asaf Jahi dynasty. He took the title Asaf Jha. His other title Nizam-ul-Mulk became the title of his position Nizam of Hyderabad.

Now Princely State Hyderabad is divided into Telangana state, Hyderabad-Karnataka region of Karnataka and Marathwada region of Maharashtra.

This gold Ashrafi was issued by Mir Usman Ali Khan during the 9th year of his reign. The obverse of the coin is inscribed with the image of ‘Charminar’ with a short initial ‘Ain’ and Hijri Date 1338. The reverse of the coin is inscribed with name and title with the regnal year 9.

Knowledge Base