Bhopal Silver Double Rupee

15 Dec 2017  Fri

Bhopal was a state of India, which existed form 1949 to 1956. Later, in the year 1956, it was merged with the neighbouring state of Madhya Pradesh. Before the Independence of India, Princely State of Bhopal was ruled by Nawabs.

The Princely State of Bhopal was founded by Dost Mohammad Khan in the year 1707 CE. He was a Pashtun soldier in the Mughal army under the service of Emperor Aurangzeb. After the death of Emperor Aurangzeb, he annexed several territories to his fiefdom. The state was ruled by the Muslim rulers until the last Nawab Hamidullah Khan acceded the State to India in the year 1949.

This Silver Double rupee of Bhopal was issued by Shah Jahan Begum in the Hijri year 1286.

To know about stamp of Bhopal click here.

Knowledge Base