Persian Gulf One Rupee

28 Nov 2017  Tue

The Persian Gulf Rupee or the Gulf Rupee was a currency issued by the Government of India and the Reserve Bank of India for an exclusive use in the Persian Gulf and the Arabic peninsula.

The Indian rupee was an official currency in several areas that were controlled by the British and governed from India and it was a legal tender in the Gulf countries up till 1966.

In mid 20th century, there was much smuggling of gold in India due to the excessive external use of rupee. While the smuggling problem existed for many years it reached to alarming proportions in 1957-58. India was paying for the illegal importation of gold through its foreign reserves. To reduce the strain on India’s foreign reserves and to turn the balance of trade in India’s favour, a separate currency was created.

This new rupee note was called as the “Gulf Rupee” and was issued by the Government of India (INR 1) and the Reserve Bank of India (INR 5, 10, 100) only to be used as a legal tender outside the country.

These new rupee notes were introduced by a bill passed in both the Houses of the Indian Parliament and with the Presidential assent on May 1, 1959, and were called as the “External Rupee” or the “Gulf Rupee”. This issue of the ‘special notes’ was not a legal tender within the Indian borders and was exclusively for use in the Persian Gulf.

The series of these special notes were identical to the ‘Indian rupee’ except for a change in its colour, the legend on the obverse and it indicated that they were payable “at the Office of Issue at Bombay” instead of payable “at any office of issue”. They carried a special serial number with the prefix “Z”.

Specific note Description:

Denomination - 1 Rupee

Colour - Red

SCWPM Number - India No. R1.

Pattern of - India No. 75d.

First issued - 11 May 1959

Signature - A. K. Roy (Secretary, Ministry of Finance)

Serial Number - Prefix range Z/0 to Z/11, followed by a six-digit number.

Knowledge Base