100 Rupees Note of Bank of Madras

11 Mar 2021  Thu

The Bank of Madras was one of the three Presidency Banks of British India, along with the Bank of Bengal and the Bank of Bombay. It was established on 1 July 1843 through the amalgamation of a number of existing regional banks and headquartered in Madras (now Chennai). It was merged with the other Presidency banks in 1921 to form the Imperial Bank of India, which later became the State Bank of India.

The obverse of the note depicts a vignette of the statue of Sir Thomas Munro, Governor of Madras (1819-1827) at the centre, BANK OF MADRAS in a semicircle above vignette in the top centre panel, bank of madras in English, Persian, Telugu and Tamil on either of the top panel, Numeric 10 in all four corners inside oval motif in four corners clockwise Arabic, English, Tamil and Telugu, Serial No below top panel in Type A format on right and left of the centre panel, promissory text in centre panel with three-digit printed date 184X format below promissory text on either side MADRAS in between the date.

Knowledge Base