Copper Paisa of Princely State Pratabgarh

30 Nov 2020  Mon

Pratabgarh- also known as Pratapgarh was a Princely State during the British rule in India. It was founded as Kanthal State in the year 1425; later it was renamed after its capital located in Pratapgarh, Rajasthan.

Raja Uday Singh ruled Princely State Pratangarh between 1864 CE and 1890 CE. During his ruled Raja Uday Singh issued coins in silver and copper in both square and round shape. Coins issued by Raha Uday Singh was issued from the mint Devanagari in the denomination Nazarana Rupee, Rupee and Paisa. His all coins inscribed with Devanagari and Persian legend and represent various symbols such as the ornate face of God Mahadev (Shiva) or Rayed oval face of the sun god Surya.

This copper that weighs around 7.81g was issued by Udai Singh during his rule in Princely State Pratabgarh. The obverse of this coin is inscribed as ‘ornate face of Mahadev (Shiva)’. The reverse of this coin depicts ‘Shri riyasat’ in Nagari’.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base