Princely State Sirohi Quarter Anna

17 Sep 2020  Thu

Sirohi was a Princely State during British rule in India. Today it is situated in a city in southern Rajasthan state in western India. The meaning of the word Sirohi is “Self-respect”, who’s Rajputs were ready to die for self-respect.

Princely State Sirohi became the part of British India in the year 1823 CE. Later after Independence, it submerged with the Rajasthan State on 16th November 1949, and its existence came to an end.

This copper quarter Anna weighs around 10.6g was issued by King Sheo Singh during his rule in Princely State Sirohi. King Sheo Singh ruled Princely State from 1816 to 1862 AD. This coin represents the Scimitar, VS date, Mint name, and Julus formula.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base