Copper Paisa of Princely State Rampur

08 Aug 2020  Sat

Rampur was a Princely State during the British rule in India. State Rampur came into existence on 7th October 1774 as a result of the treaty of Oudh. This state was ruled by Nawabs of Rampur. This state remains under the dominance of the British government until independence and became the first Princely State to accede to Indian in 1949. After Independence, this state Rampur along with the other princely State of that area such as Benares and Tehri-Garhwal were merged into the United Provinces. State Rampur was the last Princely State ruled by Muslims in the colonial the United Provinces.

State Rampur was founded by Nawab Ali Muhammad Khan, the adopted son and the successor of Sardar Daud Khan, the chief of Rohillas in Northern India. In the year 1737, he received everything from Mughal Emperor Muhammad Shah, but later, eventually, he lost the entire thing in a contest with Nawab Wazir of Oudh in the year 1746 CE.

This copper paisa was issued by king Chauda Rajput during his reign in Princely State Rampur. The weight of this coin is around 8.38g. The obverse of this coin is inscribed as Solar symbols with serrated rays with several katars (daggers). The reverse of this coin is inscribed with the name of the legend Shri Rampur in Nagari.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base